I Am Not Your Manic Pixie Dream Girl

Rose Water Magazine

Screen Shot 2015-03-16 at 4.29.02 PM During my teenage years, I desired to be a manic pixie dream girl.

A manic pixie dream girl (or MPDG) is the female character in television and film who is quirky and makes the male protagonist fall in love with her and his own life. Although I was quirky, I longed to be the type of quirky that would be deemed desirable by men. At the time, it seemed like they were the only female characters that made it acceptable to be quirky and awkward while still holding a strong romantic appeal.

Flash forward a few years, it finally happened: a guy referred to me as his “manic pixie dream girl.”

While part of me should be happy that I finally “made it” and am considered on par with the Maudes and Penny Lanes of the world, I no longer see the appeal of being a MPDG.  Now that…

View original post 455 more words

Leave a Reply

