The Nightmare

we’ve had that, creepy, can’t wait to see the film.

Cinema Axis

The Nightmare 1

Let me tell you about something that used to happen to me–not a common occurrence, something I’d experience maybe three, four times a year. I’d awaken suddenly from sleep, lying on my back, staring upward–and unable to move. I could breathe, and I’m pretty sure I could look around and blink, but otherwise I’d be completely paralyzed: unable to move my arms, legs, or head; unable to sit upright. My mind would struggle against the paralysis, usually by forcing my head to turn to the left (always the left). Eventually, I’d be able to will my body to move.

It wasn’t until about eight years after my first episode that I learned that I wasn’t the only one who’d experienced such a thing. My then-girlfriend, who’d heard of the phenomenon, called it sleep paralysis.

Director Rodney Ascher and the subjects of his new documentary The Nightmare also experience…

View original post 486 more words

Leave a Reply

